TFR Excellence in Trade Awards 2017 – Nominate now!

News | 5 April 2017


Celebrating TFR at 21

We are celebrating the 21st Anniversary of Trade & Forfaiting Review and to mark this, we have decided to present 21 Awards for Excellence in Trade, alongside our TFR Fellowship Award for individual contribution to the trade finance industry. Since last year, our categories have been simplified and streamlined and the nomination and voting process has also been tweaked.

This is a call to nominate. The window for nominations will close on 5 May 2017, after which a shortlist in every category (barring the TFR Fellowship Award, see below) will be announced and the industry will then be invited to vote on the winners.

The Categories

The Best Trade Bank explains itself. We then look at certain sectors and regions. Official institutions are split roughly into two categories which are not easily defined. We have chosen Export Credit Agencies and International Financial Institutions and are aware that there are big differences between and among these. We have left it to our readers to speak as they will. 

The next category group is the service provider awards. Companies trade and banks have money but could not do so without the ancillary – necessary – services which fintech, technology, brokers, underwriters and lawyers provide.

There is one additional category that is in time honoured tradition, the TFR Fellowship Award, which will go to the individual we feel has contributed most to trade finance. Previous winners include Steven Beck from the ADB, Marc Auboin and Pascal Lamy from WTO, Andre Casterman formerly of SWIFT and Rudolf Putz of the EBRD. Please feel free to nominate for this category, but for this, the winner will be chosen by the editorial team.

The Excellence in Trade Awards Winners 2016

Nominate now!

·         TFR Excellence in Trade Awards are among the most prestigious awards in the trade industry. 

·         TFR has been celebrating and acknowledging the best in class in the industry for many years. 

·         The award-winning institutions will be profiled in the July/August edition of TFR magazine in print and online. 

·         Winners will have the opportunity to showcase their achievements to their clients and peers.

Nominate Now

Important dates:

·         Nominations deadline: 8 May 2017

·         Shortlist announced: 12 May 2017

·         Voting open: 16 May 2017

·         Voting closes: 5 June 2017

·         Winners announced: July/August double edition of TFR

·         Awards presentation: Autumn 2017

The TFR Excellence in Trade Awards do not represent the views or opinions of Ark Group or Wilmington Plc. 

We look forward to your nominations and votes. We will let you know where the awards will be presented shortly.

If you have any questions, don't hesitate to contact Binyamin Ali, Editor of Trade & Forfaiting Review at

Box-out 1

Awards categories

Best Trade Bank


Sector awards: Best trade bank in:

·         Structured finance

·         Metals and mining

·         Energy

·         Soft commodities

·         SMEs

·         Innovation and technology

Regional awards: Best trade bank in:

·         Europe

·         Middle East

·         Africa

·         Eurasia / CIS

·         Asia

·         North America

·         Latin America


Institutions awards

·         Export Credit Agency (ECA)

·         International Financial Institution (IFI)


Service provider awards

·         Non-bank trade services (forfaiting and factoring)

·         Technology

·         Trade credit broker

·         Political and credit underwriter

·         Law firm


The TFR Fellowship Award

Give Feedback